Knowledge Society Agency (UMIC) main page.

Note for navigation with support technologies: in this page you find 3 main elements: search engine (shortcut key 1); the highlights at the main area of the page (shortcut key 2) e main menu (shortcut key 3).

Knowledge Society Agency (UMIC)
Home  > About UMIC  > Board of Directors  > Luís Magalhães

Luís Magalhães

Presently: Full Professor of Mathematics at IST, Lisbon Technical University (1993-); Corresponding Member of the Lisbon Academy of Sciences (1995-); Member of the Advisory Councils of COTEC Portugal (2006-) and Luso-American Foundation for Development (1997-); Member of the Taguspark Scientific and Technological Council (1997-);
at the European Union: European Co-Chair of the EU-Africa 8th Partnership – Science, Information Society, Space (2011-) and Chair of the European Experts Group of the EU-Africa 8th Partnership (2011-); Member of the HLIG – High Level Group on Internet Governance (2005-);
at the United Nations: Portuguese Delegate to the UN Internet Governance Forum (IGF) annual meetings (2006-); Member of the UN Commission on Science and Technology for Development (CSTD) (2009-) and of the CSTD Working Group on Improvements of the IGF (2011-);
at the OCDE: Chair of the WPIIS – Working Party on Indicators for the Information Society (2011-); Member of the Extended Bureau of the OECD Committee on ICCP – Information, Computer and Communications Policy(2008-); Member of the OECD ICCP Committee (2005-);
at ICANN: Member of the GAC – Governmental Advisory Committee of ICANN Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (2009-).

Formerly: President of the Knowledge Society Agency (UMIC) (27.07.2005-03.01.2012); President of the Science and Technology Foundation (FCT) (the Portuguese Research Council and research funding organization) (1997-2002); Member of the Governing Boards of the international partnerships programs MIT – Portugal (2006-2011), Carnegie Mellon University – Portugal (2006-2011), University of Texas at Austin – Portugal (2007-2011), Harvard Medical School – Portugal (2009-2011); Member of the Fraunhofer – Portugal Program Steering Committee (2007-2012); Member of the Portuguese Economic and Social Council (2006-2012); Member of the Foundation for National Scientific Computing (FCCN) Steering Council (2009-2012); Member of the Lisbon Strategy and Technological Plan Coordination Network (2005-2011); President of the Taguspark Scientific and Technological Council (2000-2004); Manager of the Science, Technology and Innovation Operational Program of the Community Support Framework III (CSF III) (2000-02); Manager of the PRAXIS XXI Program of the CSFII (1999-02); Head of Portugal Delegation for Negotiation with the European Commission of the Operational Programs “Science, Technology and Innovation” and “Information Society” of the CSPIII which obtained a global funding of 1.8 billion Euros (1999-2000); Member of the Portugal General Commissariat for EXPO 2000 Hannover (1998-2000); National Coordinator of the Portuguese Research Units International Assessment (1996-97); Director and founder of the Center for Mathematical Analysis, Geometry and Dynamical Systems (1991-97); Chairman of the Department of Mathematics of IST (1993-97); Coordinator of the Section of Algebra and Analysis of the Department of Mathematics of IST (1983-94); Co-Founder with João Sentieiro of the Systems and Robotics Institute and Deputy Director of its Lisbon branch (1991-96); Member of the Coordination Committee of Exact and Natural Sciences of the National Board of Scientific and Technological Research (JNICT) (1992-94); Coordinator of the Center for Signal Analysis and Processing (CAPS) of the National Institute of Scientific Research (INIC) (1991-93), Coordinator of the Session on Mathematics of the National Days of Scientific and Technological Research (1987);
at the European Union: Member of the Digital Agenda High Level Group (2010-2012), of the National ICT Research Directors Forum (2005-2012), of the FIF – Future Internet Forum (2009-2012), of the National ICT Research Directors Forum Working Group on FET – Future and Emerging Technologies Flagships (2010-2012), of the i2010 High Level Group (2005-2010); Member of the CREST – Committee of Scientific and Technical Research at Director-Generals level (2007-2010); member of the eGovernment Subgroup and of the e-Government Ad-hoc Group of the i2010 High Level Group (2005);
at the United Nations: Member of the MAG – Multistakeholder Advisory Group for the Internet Governance Forum, appointed by the UN Secretary General (Sep-Dec 2007);
at the OCDE: Vice-Chair of the OECD Committee on ICCP – Information, Computer and Communications Policy (2009, 2010); Member of the OECD Committee on Science and Technology Policy and of the OECD Global Science Forum (1998-2002);
at international research organizations: President of the Council (2008-) and of the Installation Commission General Assembly (2007-2011) of the INL – International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory; Member of the EGI – European Grid Initiative Council (2009-2012); Member of the European AAL – Ambient Assisted Living Association General Assembly (2007-2012); Member of the Governing Council (2000-2002) and of the General Assembly (1997-2002) of the European Science Foundation.

Institutions where he worked: IST, Technical University of Lisbon (1972-97, 2002-05, 2012-), Knowledge Society Agency (27.07.2005-03.01.2012), Science and Technology Foundation (FCT) (1997-2002), Institute of Mathematics and Its Applications, University of Minnesota, USA (1982-83, 1985), Division of Applied Mathematics, Brown University, USA (1978-83), Biology Center of the Gulbenkian Institute of Science (1972-78).

University degrees: PhD (1982) and MSc (1980) in Applied Mathematics by Brown University, USA. Electrical Engineer – Telecommunications and Electronics (1975) by IST, Technical University of Lisbon.

pdf: Curriculum Vitae >> (95 KB)

Last updated ( 09/04/2012 )