Freedom House - Click to return to the Home Page
About UsAdvocacyActionAnalysisNewsroomSupport
Freedom House: A History | Frequently Asked Questions | Annual Reports | Employment Opportunities | Board Of Trustees | Staff Directory | Contact Us
Freedom House content available in:

Stand with us

Around the World

U.S. President Barack Obama says Iran must give UN inspectors "unfettered access" to its second uranium enrichment facility within two weeks. Read more about Iran in Undermining Democracy: Iran

Pakistan's army orders an investigation into a video apparently showing soldiers beating Taliban suspects. Learn more in Freedom in the World 2009: Pakistan

A Burmese court rejects an appeal by pro-democracy leader Aung San Suu Kyi against her extended detention. Read more about Burma in Freedom in the World 2009: Burma

Kenya's government says it will co-operate with the International Criminal Court to try key suspects in post-election violence. Freedom in the World 2009: Kenya


Freedom in the World
Freedom of the Press
Nations in Transit
Countries at the Crossroads
Women's Rights Survey
Freedom on the Net
Foreign Assistance Budget Analyses
Special Reports


Upcoming Events
Past Events

Search Freedom House

Search Help
Related Websites


Democracy Web

Freedom House Europe

Governance Blog


OSCE Monitor

Peace in the Caucasus

UN Democracy Caucus

Voice of Freedom

Board Of Trustees

William H. Taft IV, Chair
Ruth Wedgwood, Vice-Chair
Thomas A. Dine, Vice-Chair
Walter J. Schloss, Treasurer
John Norton Moore, Secretary, Governance & Ethics Officer
Max M. Kampelman, Chairman Emeritus
Bette Bao Lord, Chairman Emeritus

Kenneth L. Adelman
Susan J. Bennett
James H. Carter
Antonia Cortese
Lee Cullum
Paula J. Dobriansky
Alan P. Dye
Stuart Eizenstat
Carleton S. (Carly) Fiorina
Sidney Harman
D. Jeffrey Hirschberg
John T. Joyce
Kenneth I. Juster
Kathryn Dickey Karol
Farooq Kathwari
Anthony Lake
Lawrence Lessig
Michael Lewan
Jay Mazur
Theodore N. Mirvis
Dalia Mogahed
Alberto Mora
Joshua Muravchik
David Nastro
Andrew Nathan
Diana Villiers Negroponte
Lisa B. Nelson
Mark Palmer
Carlos Pascual
Walter Schloss
Scott Siff
Arthur Waldron
Richard S. Williamson
Wendell L. Willkie II

Andrew Nathan

Dr. Nathan is the Class of 1919 Professor of Political Science at Columbia University. He is engaged in longterm research and writing on Chinese foreign policy and on sources of political legitimacy in Asia. He received his degrees from Harvard University, taught at the University of Michigan from 1970-1071, and has been at Columbia University since 1971, where he served as Director of the East Asian Institute from 1991-1995 and as chair of the Department of Political Science from 2003-2006.  Nathan's books include Chinese Democracy, Human Rights in Contemporary China (with R. Randle Edwards and Louis Henkin), China's Crisis, China's Transition, The Great Wall and the Empty Fortress (with Robert S. Ross), The Tiananmen Papers (edited with Perry Link), and China's New Rulers (with Bruce Gilley). His articles have appeared in World Politics, Journal of Democracy, The New York Review of Books, the Boston Globe, the International Herald Tribune and elsewhere. He is a member of the steering committee of the Asia Barometer, a multi-national survey research project.  Dr. Nathan was chair of the Advisory Committee of Human Rights Watch Asia, 1995-2000, and continues to serve on this committee and on the boards of Freedom House, Human Rights in China, and China Labor Watch. He is a member of the editorial boards of the Journal of Democracy, the China Quarterly, the Journal of Contemporary China, and China  Information, among others, and is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations.