# Portugal-Spain Scientific and Technological Cooperation and INL – International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory

# **Nanotechnology Capacities Development Program**

### **Evaluation Panel for R&D Projects**

Within the Nanotechnology Capacities Development Program associated with the joint creation of Portugal and Spain of the INL – International Iberian Nanotechnology Laboratory and also with the Memorandum of Understanding signed in November 2005 between the Ministry of Science, Technology and Higher Education of Portugal and the Ministry of Education and Science of Spain for the development of specific plans of scientific and technological cooperation having in mind the mutual reinforcement of capacities for international intervention, the FCT – Science and Technology Foundation of Portugal and the DGI – Directorate-general of Research of Spain issued in the 25<sup>th</sup> of November 2006 a call for applications of R&D proposals to be developed in cooperation between teams of Portuguese and Spanish research institutions in the following nanotechnology themes: (a) Nanomedicine – Therapeutic Applications, (b) Nanomedicine – Drug Delivery, (c) Nanotechnology for Environmental Control, (d) Food Safety and Quality.

It was decided that the evaluation of the proposals would be entrusted to an independent international panel of evaluators and coordinated jointly by:

# Prof. Aristides Requicha

- Gordon Marshall Chair in Engineering University of Southern California (USC), Los Angeles, CA, USA, 2003-present;
- Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, USC, November 1986 – present;
- Director, Laboratory for Molecular Robotics, USC, 1994 present
- Director of Programmable Automation Laboratory at USC, 1986 to 2003
- Member of the Advisory Board of the INL

### **Prof. Miquel Salmeron**

- Adjunct Professor, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
- University of California, Berkeley, USA, 2006-present
- Director. Imaging and Manipulation Facility of the Molecular Foundry, University of California, Berkeley, USA, 2004-present
- Senior Scientist, Lawrence Berkeley Natl. Laboratory, Univ. California, Berkeley, USA, 1990-present

The other evaluation panel members were:

### Dr. Barbara Karn

- Environmental Protection Agency (EPA), Office of Research and Development, RD/NCER, USA
- Leader of the EPA research grants program for nanotechnologies in the Office of Research and Development since the program's creation in 2001.
- Representative of the EPA on the interagency Nanoscale Science, Engineering, and Technology Subcommittee of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, National Science and Technology Council, USA.

# Dr. Hongda Chen

- National Program Leader for Bioprocess Engineering and Nanotechnology in Cooperative State Research, Education & Extension Service (CSREES) of the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA).
- Representative of USDA in the National Science and Technology Council (NSTC) subcommittee on Nanoscale Science, Engineering and Technology (NSET). Representative of USDA in NSTC Interagency Working Group (IWG) on Manufacturing R&D.

#### Prof. Mauro Ferrari

- Edgar Hendrickson Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Internal Medicine, Mechanical Engineering, and Materials Science, Ohio State University (USA).
- Associate Vice President, Health Science Technology and Communications, and Associate Director of the Dorothy M. Davis Heart and Lung Research Institute.
- Advisor of the National Cancer Institute as a Special Expert on Nanotechnology.

# **Prof. Heinrich Hoerber**

- Professor of Nanobiophysics at the University of Bristol, 2005 present
- Honorary Professor of University College London, Department of Medicine, 2003 - present
- Professor of Physiology, Wayne State University School of Medicine, 2001 present
- Visiting Scientist, European Molecular Biology Laboratory EMBL, Heidelberg, 2001 - present
- Benjamin Meaker visiting professorship, University of Bristol, UK, 2000 2001
- External Faculty member of the "Advanced Drug Delivery Research Program",
  Yale University, USA, 1998 2000
- Group leader at the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL), Heidelberg in the Cell Biology and Biophysics Programme, 1993 - 2001
- Research Assistant, Max-Planck-Institute for Medical Research in Heidelberg,
  Department of Cell Physiology, with Prof. B. Sakmann, Nobel Price 2001, 1990
  1992

 Postdoctoral fellow, IBM Physics Group in Munich, with Prof.G.Binnig, Nobel Price 1986, 1988 - 1990

#### **Prof. Ruth Duncan**

- Professor of Cell Biology and Drug Delivery at the Welsh School of Pharmacy, Cardiff University, UK
- Director of the Centre for Polymer Therapeutics, Welsh School of Pharmacy, Cardiff University, UK.
- In 1992 joined Farmitalia Carlo Erba (became Pharmacia now Pfizer) in Milan as Head of New Technologies.

#### Prof. Yves Dufrêne

 Research Associate (2000) of the FNRS (Laboratory of Chemistry of Interfaces nanofabrication of biosurfaces and nanocharacterization of biosurfaces), Université Catholique de Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium.

Each one of the proposals was submitted to analysis and recommendations of two external reviewers and the result of these reviews was submitted to the evaluation panel for decisions regarding ranking, selection and funding recommendations.